Skip to main content

Eugène Ysaÿe, Obsession for flute solo

Helene Schulthess, Querflöte, Eugène Ysaÿe

Eugène Ysaÿe – Obsession
Arrangement of the violin sonata, op. 27, no. 2 for flute (1st movement)

Eugène Ysaÿe (1858–1931)
Obsession for flute solo

First Version

Second Version


The flute arrangement can be purchased from Edition Kossack for €12.

Eugène Ysaÿe – Obsession

Eugène Ysaÿe is one of the most important violinists of all time. Due to health problems, however, he had to end his career as a violin virtuoso prematurely. He subsequently made a name for himself as a composer and conductor. In 1923 he composed six solo sonatas, including "Obsession", which have a high status in violin literature.

The name of this second sonata could come from Ysaÿe's obsessive preoccupation with Johann Sebastian Bach. The sonata begins with the unmistakable sequence of tones of the Prelude from the Partita in E major, BWV 1006. Abruptly, almost as a shock, this theme is replaced by the ancient Dies Irae sequence from the Mass for the Dead.

Arrangement of the violin sonata for flute

Helene Schulthess adapted the first movement of "Obsession", which has no double stops, for the flute. The arrangement was first played publicly on October 19, 2014 in the Giacometti Hall, Zurich, and was subsequently published on YouTube.

Performance venue

The performance location of Obsession is today's police station of the Zurich City Police. The city's orphanage used to be in this building.

The most beautiful entrance hall of a police station in the world

Related Content

Helene Schulthess, Toccata und Fuge in d-moll BWV 565, Johann Sebastian Bach

Johann Sebastian Bach (1685 ‑ 1750)
Toccata und Fuge in d minor BWV 565 en

Helene Schulthess, Querflöte, Mogno

Johann Sebastian Bach (1685 ‑ 1750)
Preludium in a minor BWV 999

Helene Schulthess, Querflöte, Ferroud

Pierre-Octave Ferroud (1900 ‑ 1936)

Helene Schulthess, Querflöte, Asturias

Isaac Albéniz (1860 – 1909)

Helene Schulthess, Querflöte, Paxmal

By Helene Schulthess